Lately I've been receiving messages like this one, sent from LinkedIn:
Date: Wed, 3 Oct 2012 19:41:31 +0000 (UTC)
From: Tom Rhodes <member@linkedin.com>
To: Greg Lehey <groggyhimself@lemis.com>
Received: from maile-aa.linkedin.com (maile-aa.linkedin.com [69.28.147.164])
by w3.lemis.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 9CF323B74B
for <groggyhimself@lemis.com>; Wed, 3 Oct 2012 19:41:32 +0000 (UTC)
Subject: Tom Rhodes has endorsed you!
Message-ID: <975062635.5112619.1349293291862.JavaMail.app@ela4-app2310.prod>
Tom Rhodes has endorsed you!
Greg,
I've just endorsed you for skills & expertise!
See your endorsements by clicking here:
http://www.linkedin.com/e/d4m02c-h7uudz6c-4d/Jmg7x16irWb3uf_He_84g0mS/spe/true/eml-skills_endorsements-btn-0-new_teaser/?hs=false&tok=23qfpEuZat95s1
From: Tom Rhodes <member@linkedin.com>
To: Greg Lehey <groggyhimself@lemis.com>
Received: from maile-aa.linkedin.com (maile-aa.linkedin.com [69.28.147.164])
by w3.lemis.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 9CF323B74B
for <groggyhimself@lemis.com>; Wed, 3 Oct 2012 19:41:32 +0000 (UTC)
Subject: Tom Rhodes has endorsed you!
Message-ID: <975062635.5112619.1349293291862.JavaMail.app@ela4-app2310.prod>
Tom Rhodes has endorsed you!
Greg,
I've just endorsed you for skills & expertise!
See your endorsements by clicking here:
http://www.linkedin.com/e/d4m02c-h7uudz6c-4d/Jmg7x16irWb3uf_He_84g0mS/spe/true/eml-skills_endorsements-btn-0-new_teaser/?hs=false&tok=23qfpEuZat95s1
And yes, the & is in the original. In each case, it claims to be from somebody I know, though in some cases I haven't had anything to do with them for years. And of course they haven't endorsed me. The message really comes from LinkedIn, and the URL points to LinkedIn. But look at it: it contains the component eml-skills_endorsements-btn-0-new_teaser. Is LinkedIn doing something funny?
