view all posts by Greg Lehey

Spammers in glass houses

Greg Lehey Posted by Greg Lehey | Mon, 07 May 2012
see the original posting from Greg's diary

Recently I have been inundated with spam with subject lines like Employment you've been searching! and New job vacancy - see details. Much of it came from people I know, notably in the FreeBSD project, but even more came from me myself. The messages clearly come from combinations of user and ISP that can be broken in to, and about the only thing they have in common is a line matching the regexp please reply to .*@employmenteu.com,with, notably with a missing space after the comma.

So, is somebody trying to discredit employmenteu.com? Looking at the whois data, it seems not:

   Domain Name: EMPLOYMENTEU.COM
   Updated Date: 04-may-2012
   Creation Date: 04-may-2012

Registrant Contact:
   Jordan R. Harrison
   Jordan Harrison supp@email.com
   410-854-0150 fax: 410-854-3421
   2102 Marie Street
   Odenton MD 21113

That's a lot of information for a spammer, in particular that it was registered just as this wave of spam started, though the address is invalid. And they only have an MX record. No A record, no web site. And their allegedly authoritative name servers (ns[12].jobcenter-coordination.com., a name significant in itself) don't want to know about it. But there's enough information there for a DDoS attack on them. That would be amusing.


see the original posting from Greg's diary

Back to top